The Andy Griffith Show Complete Season on Blu-ray

Amazon Commissions Earned

The Andy Griffith Show: The Complete Series is finally coming to Blu-ray Disc on December 7th, via CBS Home Entertainment and Paramount Home Entertainment. The show had previously received a Blu-ray release of the first season back in 2014, but no further seasons ever followed. Now, with this “complete series” release you’ll get all 249 episodes, a total of eight seasons, spanning across a 32-disc set. The show aired on CBS from 1960 through 1968, where it started in Black & White and eventually transitioned over to Color. It starred Andy Griffith, Ron Howard, Frances Bavier, Don Knotts, George Lindsey, Howard McNear, Jack Dodson, Hal Smith, Jim Nabors, as well as eventually Jack Dodson and Jack Burns.

The tech specs for this set have not yet been officially detailed, however looking back on the first season (if it’s any indication of what to expect), it should be presented in 1080p HD video in the 1.33:1 aspect ratio with Dolby Digital 2.0 Mono sound. You can now find the Blu-ray set available for preorder over at Amazon as well as at retailers Best Buy and Target.

There are no details (yet) about the bonus materials set to be included with the set, but it should include the extras from Season 1 which (as aforementioned) had been previously released on the Blu-ray format. Those extras included the following for the first season:

  • “Danny Meets Andy Griffith” (From “The Danny Thomas Show” Season 7)
  • The Howards’ On-set Home Movies
  • Original Sponsor Spots On Select Episodes
  • Return to Mayberry Television Movie
  • “Person to Person” Interview with Andy Griffith

Stay tuned for any updates on the further bonus materials set to be included with the complete series set. These likely should be identical to what is found on the DVD releases for each season.